Sir Billi

by on April 15th, 2012

I am always conflicted when invited to premieres. I am honored to be in attendance. But, fearful I will not enjoy the film. And in this case. I did not enjoy it. Not quite sure what turned me off. It could have been the characters or the writing. Or perhaps both. Imagine your mother writing a story that would relate to children today. You know that uncomfortable moment. When an older women uses a line like. “Oh no she didn’t”. While shaking her hand and tossing her head back. That disconnect from today’s youth. That sums up the writing. I am not sure what children will think of this film. Maybe they will enjoy it. And I am in the one disconnected. I hope that is the case. For this film was a labor of love for the family. And that love should be rewarded.

Sir Billi (voice by Sean Connery) is a retired veterinarian. Who is the patriarch of Scottish Highland village. When a couple of the village animals find themselves in a dangerous situation. Sir Billi and the villagers find a way to rescue the animals.

I would say wait till DVD or catch it on TV at some point. I give the film a

  • Google Reader
  • Share/Bookmark

Sonoma Film Festival

by on April 12th, 2012


Sonoma Film Festival

Once a year. Winos and cinema nerds converge on the wonderful town of Sonoma. And this year is no different. While the wine flows and the credits roll. Many patrons will be pleased with the great selection of films this year. Documentaries on wolves to circus performers. Feature length films that are sure to tug and the heart strings. And others that will make you double over with laughter. Not to mention the honoring of John Waters. The great Baltimore film director. With such credits as “Cry Baby” and “Hair Spray”.

Although this film festival is small in comparison to other festivals. Sundance or Toronto for example. Sonoma packs a punch. Five days of movies in a family setting. Whether you watch a film in a theater or in a pub. You will experience the warmth of the community. It is a wonderful festival and great place to get away to. And for that I give this festival a wino endorsed

  • Google Reader
  • Share/Bookmark

21 Jump Street

by on April 12th, 2012


21 Jump street Trailer

Being a fan of the 80′s and it’s television shows. I was curious to see how the TV series would translate on the big screen. But, like most TV series turned movie. They tried to make it funnier than the original.

When two young officers are reassigned to and undercover unit. Located at 21 Jump Street. Officers Schmidt and Jenko (Jonas Hill and Channing Tatum) are assigned a case. Their goal is to bring down a high school drug ring.

Overall the movie was entertaining. A little too long in the middle. But, worth checking out. Their are some great cameos from the original cast. I give this film a

  • Google Reader
  • Share/Bookmark

Act of Valor

by on April 12th, 2012

Act of Valor Trailer

SEALs. The legendary Naval special warfare operators. Having served in a legendary Army unit. I have much respect for all service men and women. Their sacrifice is always remembered. In this film it highlights the sacrifices made by these men.

When I heard this film was being made. I had mixed emotions. On one hand I was very interested in seeing actual SEAL operators play themselves. Not some “Hollywood” type pretending to know how to “Clear” a room. But, on the other hand. I was afraid this would be used as a recruitment tool for the Navy. Leading this “Video game” generation on. Thinking that being a SEAL is a glamorous life. Personally knowing a couple SEALs. It is not the case. The selection process will break most men. Who are in great shape. Let alone 18 year old kids that play video games. But, after watching the film. I believe that the directors did a great job. Both with the portrayal of the SEALs and the hardships service men and women. To include families. The sacrifices that they endure. It is not a glamorous lifestyle. It is hardship only the dedicated shall pursue.

The film takes place in multiple locations. From the US to Africa. The SEALs are tasked with taking down a terrorist cell. Who’s actions will take down numerous cities in the US. Following the SEALs on their missions. You as the viewer get the insight of some of their techniques and maneuvers. I emphasize “some”.

This movie is an amazing insight into “Special Warfare”. It also will leave you in an emotional place. Because life is not always fun. You will have to embrace the sadness too. I give this film a

  • Google Reader
  • Share/Bookmark

2012 Sundance Film Festival

by on January 20th, 2012


We are here!  Reviews are coming soon……

2012 Sundance Film Festival
Next week we depart for the “Holy land”. Yes, I am talking about the Sundance Film Festival. The excitement is growing as we plan our yearly pilgrimage to Park City, Utah.  We can’t help but wonder, is there going to be any major breakout films?

We will be answering this question and many more. We will be attending films and events and of course, reviewing them all!  So look for our coverage of the 2012  Sundance Film Festival, coming soon…

If there is anything you would like to read about while we are there, please post to comments!

  • Google Reader
  • Share/Bookmark

The Iron Lady

by on January 19th, 2012

Meryl Streep delivers an Oscar winning performance in her portrayal of the Iron Lady (Margaret Thatcher.) Unfortunately,  The Iron Lady’s accomplishments during her outstanding political career were overshadowed by the films focus on her late life dementia.  If you are a Meryl Streep fan the film is worth seeing.

I give The Iron Lady a

  • Google Reader
  • Share/Bookmark

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

by on January 10th, 2012

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is the first film in the ‘ three-picture adaptation of Stieg Larsson’s The Millennium Trilogy.  I have not read the books, but after seeing this movie I plan to.  The beginning of the film was a little slow, but be patient because once it gets going you are hooked.  There is a graphic rape scene that might not sit well with you, however the revenge is great.  The acting is superb, I give the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo a giant

  • Google Reader
  • Share/Bookmark

Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows

by on January 7th, 2012

I have to admit, I was pretty disappointed.  I know sequels typically aren’t as good as the originals, but I was really expecting more out of this one.  Robert Downey Jr. and Jude Law were great as always. The story just wasn’t fast paced enough to keep you completely entertained and on the edge of your seat, like the original did.  The slow motion effects were well done, but a bit of a redo.  I would say it would be a good rental.  I give Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows a

  • Google Reader
  • Share/Bookmark

We Bought a Zoo

by on December 28th, 2011

The previews really did not do this film justice.  Matt Damon delivers a great performance portraying a father that has recently lost his wife and is struggling to connect with his kids.  I found this film to be touching and something the whole family can enjoy.

I give We Bought a Zoo an

  • Google Reader
  • Share/Bookmark

Young Adult

by on December 26th, 2011

Charlize Theron gives an amazing performance in this dark comedy.  She plays a recent divorcee who’s writing career is coming to an end.   In an effort to make herself feel better she returns to her small-town home,  to rekindle a romance with her ex-boyfriend.   Although some parts are hard to watch, the movie is hilarious in it’s own dark way.

I give Young Adult an

  • Google Reader
  • Share/Bookmark